Varna University of Management, Varna, 13A Oborishte str.
+359 52 620 871


Based in the city of Volos, University of Thessaly was founded in 1984, and was developed over five cities in the wider area (Volos, Larissa, Trikala, Karditsa and Lamia). With 18 academic Departments, 44 Postgraduate Study Programmes, more than 12,000 Students and approximatively 900 members of staff, it has a prominent position in the national educational system.

The main mission of the University of Thessaly is the promotion of scientific knowledge through research and the contribution to the cultural and economic development of the local community and society. It is known for its excellent research performance and outstanding scientific achievements, in accordance with the international standards. The well equipped laboratories of the different Departments and Research Units have a number of well-trained researchers to support them.

The University’s strategy on entrepreneurship is carried out by an institution-wide Unit, called Innovation and Entrepreneurship Unit (MOKE). MOKE started operating in 2003 (taking its current form in 2013) and its main objective is to develop the entrepreneurial and innovation skills of the students of the University of Thessaly and to provide support for them in undertaking entrepreneurial activities by teaching courses related to innovation and entrepreneurship, being in contact with enterprises, providing specialized guides and tools, and individual counselling. MOKE is run by the Research Unit of Infrastructure, Technology Policy and Development (RUITEPOD), operating in the Department of Planning and Regional Development and the Laboratory of Management, based on the Department of Economics.

The Department of Planning and Regional Development, of the School of Engineering is amongst the oldest structures of UTH (almost 30 years of operation) and thus has set and maintained high standards of scholarship, education and research.

The DPRD offers an Undergraduate curriculum leading to a diploma of Planning and Regional Development and five postgraduate programmes (in Greek and in English). The goals and objectives of the curriculum of undergraduate programme are to cover all thematic units and the plan for achieving them is by providing 54 courses on three basic thematic units (spatial planning, urban planning and regional development). In addition, there are core courses and foreign languages. It has been a hub of innovation and research and has contributed substantially to regional development through the work of its faculty, staff and alumni. The structure of its 12 research units and four studios allows the interweaving of theory and practice, research and teaching and the interaction of undergraduate and graduate students and faculty. The alumni of the school have gone on to successful careers in government, academia and the private sector in Greece and abroad. The faculty, staff and Ph.D. students have had a leadership presence in all the international forums and associations.

Leave a reply